Work in progress: reclaimed wood bed

25 Nov

The fact that I didn’t update my blog for quite sime time doesn’t mean that I have been lying in bed doing nothing. It actually means two things:

1. I got myself into pieces that proved to be more complicated than I initially thought, so I spent zillion more hours than I planned;

2. Because I was so busy, I didn’t have time to make any decent photographs.

So, until I manage to make some nice photos, here’s a little preview of what I’ve been doing: reclaimed wood bed, done in oak with a nice walnut headboard. This particular walnut is a very rare variety that is grown locally, hence the light colour of the wood.  It is difficult to find and I only got a very small quantity, barely enough to make this headboard and to make perhaps a little jewellery box from what’s left. Oak comes from demolished wooden houses of Posavina region. Speaking of which – from 28.06.2012. till 09.07.2012. fellow woodworker Hrvoje Vulama and I will have an exhibition of furniture made from this beautiful old wood. The exhibition is entitled Third life of wood – hommage to wooden houses of Posavina region and it will be held in ULUPUH gallery in Zagreb. Which reminds me that meanwhile, I also did a big dining table out of reclaimed oak wood – with a very modern feel. Photos coming soon.

One Response to “Work in progress: reclaimed wood bed”

  1. dryang11 November 26, 2011 at 10:09 pm #

    Antique wood has the energy of pure love, just witing to be of service

Leave a Reply

