Here’s your Christmas story

25 Dec

This is our house. This is what it looked like when we bought it 3 years back.


It was disused for several years and in need of total restoration, but it had charm and we liked it at first glance and we were happy when we bought it. The villagers claim that it is the second oldest house in our village, the oldest dating from 15th century. I have a map with our house on it, dating from beginning of 19th century. So for all I know the house is between 200 and 500 years old.


We wanted to have it pretty close to its original state, but ceilings were very low, so we had to replace the wooden beams that carried floors and put new ones at different heights.

It will soon be two years that we moved into the house. We improvised an awful lot of things but the house is cosy and comfy and it fits us like a shoe.

A while ago, young couple from Belgium came to my place and said they wanted a boat chair made from reclaimed wood of some sort. After few months of unsuccessful hunting for old boats – they were either totally rotten or people wanted ridiculous sums of money – I remembered that I had saved all the old beams from our house. The beams were oak wood, and old as the house itself.

Planing the cracked surface of the beams revealed beautiful, warm colour of old oak, and structurally sound wood inside. So I had sawn the beams into planks and made a boat chair from it.

The chair is now in our living room, waiting for its new owners to pick it up. It is hanging from the very beam it used to be in its previous life.

So I guess I could bladder some quote about the cycle of life and get into some eastern wisdom or whatever but that’s not what I am going to do, I will just wish you a Merry Christmas and for those who want more here’s a beautiful song by Jamie Cullum and if you want a proper Christmas story you should look for Auggie Wren. I love you all.

3 Responses to “Here’s your Christmas story”

  1. SpeLa December 26, 2010 at 8:53 am #

    I love the house, I love what you did with it and I love all three of you.
    xxoo

  2. Viktor January 7, 2011 at 8:22 pm #

    Jako mi se sviđa vaš dom. Kreativnost pršti na sve strane!

  3. shkoro July 5, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

    our house…in the middle of our street….our house…it’s our castle and our keep…

Leave a Reply

